Women’s XC Take First Team Title, Men Third in SAA Championship

Women’s XC Take First Team Title, Men Third in SAA Championship

By Rhett Butler, Sports Information Assistant

CLINTON, Miss. – The Berry women's cross country team claimed their first team SAA title, while the men's team fell to Rhodes (1st) and to Sewanee (2nd) in a very heated battle at the SAA Championships this afternoon.


  • Senior and Captain Danielle Patterson led the Vikings with her individual runner-up finish.
  • The women's team placed 5 women in the top 15, and scored 38 points to Rhode's 44 for the win.
  • The men were led by sophomore Will Knowlton's 10th place individual finish.
  • The men placed 2 in the top 15, and 8 in the top 30, scoring 87 points.
  • Rhodes men scored 23 points to win, followed by Sewanee's 49 points.


  • Danielle Patterson garnered 1st Team All-Conference honors with her runner-up finish.
  • Freshman Abby Carrol placed 5th overall, earning 1st Team All-Conference. She was also awarded the SAA Newcomer of the Year Award.
  • Junior Alainna Chretien placed 8th overall and earned 2nd Team All-Conference honors.
  • Freshmen Meredith Hermann and Alyssa Fowler placed 11th and 12th respectively, earning SAA Honorable Mention honors and rounding out the score for the women's team.

"It's fair to say that the women had a huge upset today. We've never beaten Rhodes in cross country, but we did today," said Head Coach Paul Deaton.  "All of the women ran superbly, but it should be noted that Meredith Hermann ran more than superb, and that we have won the Conference title."


  • Will Knowlton led the Vikings with his 10th place finish, earning 2nd team All-Conference honors.
  • Senior and Captain Ebenezer Agaro placed 14th overall, earning SAA Honorable Mention.

"The story of the day for the men is not that we ran poorly, it is just that Rhodes and Sewanee have stepped it up. The men ran very strongly for third," said Deaton. 


The Vikings will host the NCAA South/Southeast Regional Cross Country Championships at the Clara Bowl on November 12TH.