McCloskey and Elmore Named Nicklaus Award Semifinalists

McCloskey and Elmore Named Nicklaus Award Semifinalists

NORMAN, Okla. – Semifinalists for the 2016 Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol have been announced for Divisions III. Berry College has two student-athletes—Ryan Elmore and Tommy McCloskey—in the prestigious group.

A senior from Framingham, Mass., McCloskey was just named the Berry College Male Student-Athlete of the Year on Tuesday. Following two All-America seasons, McCloskey has played in every event this year, and has maintained a stroke average of 73.0. His low round of 68 came at the Chick-fil-A Collegiate Invitational and at the Jekyll Island Invitational.

Elmore is a junior from Dunwoody, Ga. He leads the team with a 72.06 stroke average and has won two tournaments this season. Elmore--who has played in every event--has recorded four top-five performances this year. He was selected the Southern Athletic Association Co-Player of the Year last week.

The Berry duo hope to lead the fifth-ranked Vikings to the NCAA Championship for the third straight year. After previous finishes of eighth and fourth, BC hopes for an even better finish next month in Rochester, N.Y. Berry seeks an at large bid to the NCAAs and the announcement will come on Monday, May 2.

Finalists for Division III will be named at the GCAA Division III National Awards Banquet on May 10. Nicklaus Award recipients will be announced June 2 with the honor presented by Jack Nicklaus at a ceremony during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide Insurance at Muirfield Village Golf Club.