Hirsh Hits Game-Winner, Men's Basketball Tops Oglethorpe in Double Overtime

Hirsh Hits Game-Winner, Men's Basketball Tops Oglethorpe in Double Overtime

ROME, Ga.Elijah Hirsh hit a high post jump shot with only seconds remaining to seal the Berry College men's basketball team's 82-81 double overtime victory over Oglethorpe University on Friday night.

The win pushed Berry to 7-1 on the season and 1-0 in Southern Athletic Association (SAA) play. Oglethorpe fell to 4-4 overall and 0-1 in SAA play.

The shot capped a career night for Hirsh. The senior finished with a career-best 31 points on 13-for-16 shooting, eight rebounds, five steals and a block. His 13 made field goals, 31 points and 81.2% field goal percentage all rank inside the top-10 for a single game in Berry's NCAA Division III era.

Quinn Atkinson also had a career-high 23 points on 10-for-17 shooting. Ethan Haslam and Myles Moore both scored in double figures with 11 points apiece. The Stormy Petrels were led by Zach Breathwaite who had 19 points off the bench. Four other Oglethorpe players scored double-digits in Will Koch, Tom Inungu, Carlos Sone and Ryan Jenei.

The Vikings trailed 32-29 at the half despite leading by as much as 10 in the opening period. With the game tied in the waning second of regulation, Oglethorpe's Carlos Sone hit a three pointer to tie it up and send the game to overtime.

Berry's Atkinson would hit a layup with six seconds remaining in the first overtime period to keep the game tied at 71 apiece. The teams then traded blows in the second overtime period, as the game saw seven lead changes in the final five minutes. After a Hirsh layup to go up 80-79, Oglethorpe's Inungo would score to regain the lead 81-80 for OU. Berry called timeout, setting up Hirsh for the game-winner with two seconds remaining. Breathwaite put up a three from distance at the buzzer, but sailed wide to give Berry its seventh victory of the year.

The Vikings return to action on Tuesday against Emory in Atlanta in a rematch of last year's opening round game in the NCAA tournament. Tipoff is set for 7:00 p.m.